
Tue Nov 27, 2012, 09:34am
|
 |
Get away from me, Steve.
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing
I've known about this part of the rulebook, and if a player were to put the ball down (in retaliation to a call/no-call) and "expect" me or my partner(s) to get it, I would tell the player at the next opportunity that he needs to give it to an official when the ball is blown and if not done, can be punished by a technical foul. This has always dissipated that "problem", and I've never had to assess a technical foul for this. However, even though I wouldn't want to, once I tell a player this, I would have to assess a technical if the "problem" persists.
|
My partner called a technical last season when a player slowly rolled the ball away from him - the nearest official. Easy, IMO -- naturally, the coach was unhappy at my partner.
|