Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Are you sure about that? Is that really what the rule says?
"He has the right to land on another place on the playing court provided that the landing place and the direct path between the take-off and landing place is not already occupied by an opponent(s) at the time of take-off.
If a player has taken off and landed but his momentum causes him to contact an opponent who has taken a legal guarding position beyond the landing place, the jumper is responsible for the contact.
An opponent may not move into the path of a player after that player has jumped into the air."
As I read this he cannot move into a position (move into the path) of a player after the player has jumped in the air that the player could rightfully land in or pass through.
Nope...it is not about the rebounding advantage. It is about the advantage the shooter gained by taking a path to the shot that is through the defender...even if it is after the release.
|
He didn't take that path to the shot. He's release his shot and still is airborne but will not be disadvantaged by contact.
If a shot was blocked into the 3rd throw and then the collision happened that was caused by the defense would you call that on on the defense? Its about the nature of the play. If their is contact at any point but doesn't gain/create advantage/disadvantage then we no call. Isn't that the nature of no call? The contact isn't helping/hurting either players ability to do anything.