View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 22, 2012, 01:27pm
Freddy Freddy is offline
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Quiz Format for Association Discussion Tool

For any who'd like to use the question for association discussion, here's the issue and the results of most our discussion here in an unrefined quiz format that could take up a couple of hours of fruitful (?) meeting time, if desired....
THIS IS A TOOL TO TAILOR AS DESIRED FOR YOUR OWN USE AND CIRCUMSTANCES

A1, a designated starter, grabs the rim with 5 minutes on showing on the pregame clock. One properly observant member of your crew sees it and the merited technical foul is issued. Coach A, upset with A1, wants to bench him to deprive him of being a starter for this game. He tells you he would like to replace A6 as a designated starter instead of A1.
Which of the following responses are true?
A. He may replace A1 with A6 as a designated starter at that time, but a team technical will be assessed for changing the scorebook after the 10 minute mark.
B. He can't bench A1 before the jump ball to begin the game. As a designated starter, he must start the game.
C. He may bring A6 in as a sub for A1 after the ball is at the disposal of the B player who will be shooting the technical free throws to begin the game.
D. It doesn't really matter--just do what seems best for the sake of the spirit of the rules.
E. A1 deserves to be punished for causing the coach to lose his coaching box. He may bench A1 and designate any other non-starter in the book to be a starter with no penalty.
F. A6 may replace A1 as a designated starter only after the second technical foul shot before the team B throw in at the division line.
G. A1 may not play in this game.
H. A6 can replace A1 as a designated starter before the pre-game clock runs out, but it will be at the expense of a team technical foul for team A.
I. Since the game does not start until the inbounds pass is made by team B from the division line, the coach may send the desired sub to report to substitute for A1 at that time.
J. Before the game clock even starts after the beginning of the game, team B could be ahead by a score of 2-0.
K. A1, designated starter, must be on the floor when the game begins.
L. A1, designated starter, cannot be on the floor when the game begins.
M. He cannot sub anyone for A1 until after the clock has been properly started.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call

Last edited by Freddy; Thu Nov 22, 2012 at 02:20pm.
Reply With Quote