Thread: Out of Play
View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 04, 2003, 12:30am
manhong manhong is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 57
Question

If a fielder catches a pop fly ball and runs into a non-playable area (i.e. an opening not enclosed by a fence), is the base runner awarded a base??? A coach once mentioned during the ground rules discussion that a player may catch a fly ball and run into a non-playable area. This would result in a out for the batter. However, the player must run back into a playable area to make a throw towards a base. Both coaches agreed to this ground rule and we played with this rule for two games. However, I have always been told that a fielder may not catch a fly ball and run into a non-playable area. If this occurred, the base runner(s) each get one base for the infraction. I thought I would consult this board for advice and the proper ruling.
Reply With Quote