View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 04:02pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Is it a violation if on a free throw while the ball is in flight a player jumps from a lane space and is above the lane however does not land in the lane until after the ball hits the rim?
What if the player is behind the 3 point line and runs and jumps while the free throw is in flight but the jumper does not land until after the ball touches the rim?

I think it is a violation due to 9-1-3g in the 1st case and 9-1-3e in the second case bc they have broken the plane. Do the players have to touch in the lane or is mearly breaking the plane with their foot enough for a violation?
You've read the rule and it clearly says "breaking the plane."

(Now, how strictly it's called will vary by area)
Reply With Quote