Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  Welpe
					 
				 
				This is incomplete in NCAA. 
 
NCAA AR 7-3-6 XV 
 
Eligible A80 is airborne near the sideline when he receives a legal forward pass. As he comes to the ground facing the field of play, his 
toe (a) clearly drags the ground inbounds before he falls out of bounds; (b) touches the ground inbounds and then his heel comes down on 
the sideline in a continuous motion. He maintains firm control of the ball in both cases.  
 
RULING: (a) Complete pass. (b) Incomplete pass. The continuous toe-heel touching is part of a single process and by interpretation he has landed out of bounds, thus not executing a catch. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 This is one of those approved rulings that seems to have no cx to the rule, nor to any logic I understand!  The dragging of the toe (which surely was eventually followed by the player's taking a normal stance, and out of bounds to [heh] boot), is not just as much part of a single process?  I guess this is one of those things the sec'y must've answered a question about one day cursorily, and they put it in the book while never bothering to conform the rule to it or it to the rule.