View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 11, 2012, 11:05am
Kelvin green Kelvin green is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
Inconsistency a second time

Reading the new interpretations


SITUATION 1: While A1's free throw is in flight, B1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane. A1's free throw hits the ring and bounces straight up and hits a wire over the basket or hits the ring and goes over the backboard. RULING: The official should sound the whistle and call a violation on B1. A1 is given a substitute free throw. (9-1-4 Penalty 2b)

Can someone tell me the rationale of this? I dont see how this is justifable under 9-1-4 where both teams violate... This is not marked lane space,not behind the free throw line/3pt lane, not disconcertion, and not faking...

The rule they quote is for violation by opponent only.... This makes no sense to me...
Reply With Quote