Thread: Weird play
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 11:07am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
So a situation was proposed and I'm not real sure.

A1 is trapped. In a panic he throws the ball off the official, who is standing on the court. A1 retrieves the ball. Legal? He has already ended his dribble.

I'm thinking this would be an illegal dribble as we are considered part of the floor. But at the same time, if an errant pass hits off of us, any player can retrieve the ball. This was not an errant pass, from situation described, it was a deliberate play.

Two officials have said this play is legal.
In the rule book, is there any difference between an errant pass and a deliberate pass?

And where in the rule book does it say any player can retrieve an errant pass that hits off an official?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote