Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj
You don't rule progress stopped the second he's pushed back. You watch the action to see if he is ever able to get out of the action and advance. You may ultimately rule forward progress after the ball the fumbled but it's because you are taking the totality of the action into account. If the ball is handed, passed or stripped by a teammate as quickly as this one, I am OK with a live ball and play continuing. If you do rule forward progress make sure you sell it well and I think you can be supported on this play. It's a judgement call and there is no black and white correct answer.
|
You and I will probably never agree on this.

I don't believe in giving the ball carrier a second bite at the apple. Is he held so that his forward progress is stopped? That's what needs to be judged. The rest has no bearing.
I happen to believe he was in this play.