Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Think about it. Was the player an active participant at the time she entered the dugout or was she a retired BR?
|
In this case, she was a retired BR. So perhaps I was covered here.
But I'm still questioning the logic of specifically including catcher's obstruction in the rule. Let's say she was an "active participant", as you suggest, after the obstruction. She could only be active for one of three reasons:
1. She batted the ball fairly despite the obstruction
2. She was issued a base on balls, where she checked her swing and hit the catcher's mitt in the process
3. She swung and hit the mitt but missed the pitch for an uncaught third strike
But those three reasons are already covered by the rule. And if she did enter the dugout after the obstruction, I would think she would be subsequently awarded first base due to the obstruction if the offensive coach accepted the penalty. In other words,
catcher's obstruction should be an exception to the rule, not another example of when to call an out.
So, what gives with having this listed in 8-2-D?