Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A
Busted.
Maybe I just haven't had enough coffee this morning, but I got lost in your philosophical description. I don't really understand the difference between "3 umpires minus one" and "two umpires plus one" and how that translates to mechanics on the field. Sorry...
|
Actually, I like the way BS worded it. I believe he means that based on the preferred system, a 2-umpire crew is a member short in NCAA while a 3-umpire crew is a member extra in the ASA and when this occurs, the each organization's basic mechanics are adjusted to allow for the difference.
Quote:
Are you saying that in NCAA there really is no single solution to a situation? Let's say I'm behind F6 (what I would erroneously refer to as "C" ) with runners at second and third. The batter hits a single to right, and F9 throws home to make a play on R2. The throw is cutoff by F3, and she throws to F6 covering second to make a play on the BR. Is it okay for me to take a few steps towards second while staying outside and make the call from there? Or should I have gone in between the pitcher's plate and second to call from there?
|