View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 26, 2012, 01:21pm
Rich's Avatar
Rich Rich is offline
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trent123 View Post
I am a little league Dad who can't find an answer to the following situation

4th and 8, offense runs sweep left for 5 yards, runner goes out of bounds short of line to gain.
At conclusion of play, defender hits runner late, resulting in a personal foul.
Referee awards ball to defense on downs, change of possession, penalty enforced against the new team in possession, 1st and 25.

The Referee's explanation is that the offense surrendered the ball by failing to move the chains in 4 downs. The offending team is penalized but it does not affect their right to possession.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks -- Trent
They were right until they made it 1st and 25. Since the foul was not after the ready for play on first down, the chains are set after the penalty is enforced. 1st and 10 for B.
Reply With Quote