Quote:
Originally Posted by parepat
I don't think that this is the point. The rule says that the coach is allowed between the hashes to "address his team" this is an exception to the prohibition of him being on the field. If it is a TO, and he is not addressing his team, he is outside the exception.
I'm sure some of you have had the situation where the coach calls a time out (not a ref/coach conference) and makes a beeline to the referee to complain. In that circumstance I tell him he can have a conference w me or his team, not both. He usually looks at me with a bewildered look, swears under his breath and storms off.
|
I'm not sure what point you think I was trying to make, but I think we probably agree more than you would guess. I'm merely saying that during timeouts, coaches and conferences frequently go outside the exception, and we correct it without flags. In this instance, the crew could have corrected this before the coach ever got close to the other sideline. Since the coach was not stopped or warned, they missed an opportunity to correct this situation without even considering a flag. Any flag for USC after the fact is partly on the crew, IMO.