View Single Post
  #74 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 12, 2012, 01:46pm
HLin NC HLin NC is offline
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
There is no definition of "motion" per se in NFHS rules. They only state that only one player may be in motion at the snap and then only if that motion is not towards the opponents goalline. If the motion doesn't meet that criteria or the portion about being established in the back then that is defined as illegal motion.

So the action is not an illegal motion as it is not moving forward at the snap. It is not an illegal shift if they have moved from a huddle or other set position to another set position. It is not a false start if they have not shifted or feigned an action simulating action at the snap, committed an act "clearly intended" to cause B to encroach, or a lineman that has placed a hand on/near the ground and picked it up or made a quick movement.

There is no "A must remain as a statue" prior to the snap rule.

Last edited by HLin NC; Wed Sep 12, 2012 at 01:49pm.
Reply With Quote