View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 17, 2012, 07:42am
rcaverly rcaverly is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Send a message via Yahoo to rcaverly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rita C View Post
But (assuming it hasn't changed in the last ten years) it isn't an illegal pitch unless the ball is PITCHED!
NFHS 2-18 defines an illegal “pitch” as an illegal “act.” No pitch is required. If F1 commits the illegal act at 6-2-1e, the violation is penalized in one of three ways:

1. Ball, if committed with a live ball while not in contact an subsequently comes in contact; or,
2. Ball, if committed with a live ball while in contact with no runner/s on base; or,
3. Balk, if committed with a live ball while in contact with runner/s on base; or,

By the way, the “act” is ruled nothing if committed with a live ball while F1 is not in contact and subsequently the status of the ball is declared dead before F1 comes in contact.
Reply With Quote