View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 13, 2012, 07:06am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtridge View Post
do you agree the latter half is not a touchdown?
No. The play described is one where the covering official rules that progress was stopped, with possession, in the EZ. By rule, that's a TD and the ball is dead.

The person seems to be worried about "selling" the TD when the receiver lands on his feet in the field of play. But once you have (a) possession, (b) forward progress into the EZ, and (c) a completed catch (the player must return to the ground with possession, even in this play), the ball is dead and it's a TD.

The covering official would sound this whistle, signal TD, and move in toward the players. If I were white hat and the coach challenged this ruling, I'd simply show him 7.5.4G (in Ohio this year, we have to have the rule book, case book, and our mechanics manual on the field and be prepared to back up any ruling we make).

And, mtridge, whoever sent you that ruling has a cluttered mind.
__________________
Cheers,
mb

Last edited by mbyron; Mon Aug 13, 2012 at 07:08am.
Reply With Quote