Thread: Tag up?
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 24, 2003, 02:52pm
Bfair Bfair is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
R1 is stealing. Batter swings and pops up. At what point does the runner not need to return to 1st and tag up? To require that the runner be at 2nd before the ball is hit (to separate the plays into a steal and a attempted hit)seems overly restrictive... but I think this is the correct ruling.
If a runner advanced uncontested and made it to his next base before the TOP, then that becomes his base "at TOP."

Furthermore, if such occurrence happened and the batter merely hit a foul ball, R1 would remain at 2B since he acquired the base prior to the TOP.

I've never seen it happen, but if the timing is so close that I'm in doubt, I'm providing benefit of doubt to the offense since the defense elected not to play on him.


Freix

Reply With Quote