Thread: Is this legal?
View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 23, 2003, 09:11am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Please note that Mike and I are discussing NFHS, not NBA

Quote:
Originally posted by DrakeM
If the dribble is "interrupted", there is no player control. I don't see that Mike's interpretation is in conflict with that.
That's true, which is the exact same thing I said above.

Quote:
As long as the dribbler is "in control",
purposely leaves ball on the court to avoid a defender,then is the first to touch the ball after returning in-bounds to continue his dribble, it is illegal.
And that's not true. If the dribbler is "in control," it's a violation as soon as he steps OOB. Purposely leaving the court has absolutely nothing to do with whether a violation occurs or not. It's simply a matter of whether control exists when he touches OOB.

It is never a violation under NF rules to be the first player to touch the ball after being OOB. Such a violation does not exist.
Reply With Quote