Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  JugglingReferee
					 
				 
				Safety reasons alone?  (My books are packed away for the summer...)  Please cite a rule or case play. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 10-3-3  A player shall not:
Grasp either basket at any time during the game except to prevent injury;
As someone stated prior....The moment he swats at the ball, he's no longer grasping to prevent injury.  If he wasn't grasping the rim, he would not be in a position to swat at the ball. 
He's not allowed to grasp the rim and swat at the ball because of the advantage gained. (10-3-4) The fact that a player is underneath him doesn't permit him to use the now legal grasping to gain an advantage.
***** My apologies to Snaq...  He got his response in as I was typing mine.****