Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmartin
Is it the contention of JR (and presumably others) that, absent contact, no runner can be guilty of interference for altering the throw of any fielder or does this concept only apply to RLI. (I'm envisioning a scenario where a runner coming into 2nd throws his hands up into the air causing F6 to hold onto the ball rather than to complete the double play).
|
The RLI rule is written differently, in terms of interfering with the fielder "taking the throw at first base." Otherwise, the INT rules are written broadly to address intentional interference with the defense's opportunity to make a play.
And, BTW, everyone knows F6 needs to throw that ball. You can't interfere with a thrown ball if it's in F6's hand.