Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
No, the ball had not left. She had begun the downward thrust, but the ball was still in contact with the hand.
|
In that case, I think you may have jumped the gun a bit.
I don't think it is a dribble until it is released (if not even later). Why? The pivot foot restrictions as they relate to the dribble are relative to the release of the ball to "start" a dribble.
What if she had, somehow, caught the ball before it was clear from the hand (perhaps scooping it back to her self to catch it)? Ignoring the carry rule, would you have called that an illegal dribble? Doesn't that more resemble an awkward looking but fully legal way to end the dribble.
A player can even toss the ball into the air and catch it and as long as they don't move, that isn't a dribble (illegal or legal) and it isn't a travel.