View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 06, 2012, 06:57am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by splitveer View Post
Here is my situation. I am a newer coach wanting to use a Flex and DP in an ASA event. I don't want to get myself in a bind with this. So I am going to explain what I think is correct and hopefully some of you can give me some insight on the situation. Thanks in advance!!!!!

Here is my lineup card.

NO. Player Position
9 TK 1
18 BH 6
24 TW 2
14 TB 7
16 BM 3
10 MO 5
4 MB 8
7 NR DP
5 ER 9
11 ML 4 (FLEX) ***Sub NO. 23 for NO. 11***

Subs
2 BB
22 TB
23 CF

OK....I am going to move my Center Fielder (Position 8) to second Base (Position 4)
Then I am going to sub NO. 23 in for my flex (NO. 11) and they will play center field

Am I thinking correctly that I have ten positions and I can sub directly for each of them. So, If I have a flex then I can sub in for that flex. Now the new flex will play the field, but not bat. Hope this is all clear. Thanks for any input.
What you have done is legal and you seem to have a grasp on the situation.

When managing your line-up, it may help if you exclude defensive positioning. Completely irrelevant to the line-up, B1 through B9 including the DP plus the FLEX.

Other than a player removed from the pitching position by rule, there is no restriction on which 9 play defense other than the FLEX must b 1 of the 9 or she is out of the game. and is allowed one re-entry, just as is every other player who is in or enters the line-up and then leaves it.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote