View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2012, 01:36pm
HugoTafurst HugoTafurst is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
FWIW, to my knowledge:
1) Technically (NFHS) a runner attempting to advance to 2nd after overrunning 1st is a (live ball) appeal play. In practical terms, it is treated similar to appealing a runner leaving base before a caught fly ball is touched in that the tag of the runner is assumed to be an appeal that she attempted to advance (whether stated or not)
2) The direction a BR first turns (after overrunning 1st) is not relevant to being tagged out "attempting to advance", BUT in many rule sets it IS relevant as relates to the look back rule.

For instance:

2011NFHS

Quote:
SECTION 7 (F.P.) LOOK-BACK RULE
ART. 4 . . . Responsibilities of batter-runner after completing a turn at bat, and while the pitcher has the ball within the 16-foot pitching circle, including a base on balls or a dropped third strike are as follows:

a. A batter-runner who rounds first base toward second base may stop, but
then must immediately, without stopping, return to first or attempt to
advance to second base.

b. A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, turns left and
immediately stops, must then return non-stop to first or attempt to advance
to second base.

c. A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, turns left and
moves directly toward second base and stops is committed to second and
must attempt to advance non-stop to second base.

d. A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, turns left and
moves back toward the infield in any direction except directly toward second
base is committed to first and must return to first base.

e. A batter-runner who overruns first base toward right field, and turns right,
is committed to first base and must return to first base.
I know it's more than you asked.... but what the heck
Reply With Quote