View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 26, 2012, 08:23am
Umpteenth Umpteenth is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lone Star State
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn View Post
A first baseman who has fielded a grounder in fair territory is required to use the white part of the bag. This is clear. If that fielder goes to the colored part, the intention of the rule would have me assume that the runner gets whatever part she wants, right?

Did I just make any sense?

Joe in Florida
You describe a ground ball to F3. F3 fields the ball (cleanly) and touches the orange part of the base.

Your question is, "What obligation does the B/R have?" IMJ, F3 has not touched the proper portion of the bag because the ball was fielded in fair territory. The B/R, still has an obligation to touch the colored base, UNLESS there is risk of collision. I would not penalize B/R for using the white base if the two bodies were in close proximity. This is a HTBT situation.
__________________
Red meat is not bad for you. Fuzzy green meat is bad for you.
Reply With Quote