
Sat Jun 23, 2012, 04:28pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by tzme415
Situation: Men's ASA Slowpitch - R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st - Batter hits ball into outfield, R2 is a much faster runner than R1 and is right behind R1 when approaching home plate. Ball gets to catcher but is up the 1st base line as R1 slides into home. R1 is on top of base, but there is some uncovered at the back corner. R2 steps on back of plate just before catcher jumps over R1 to make tag. R1 did nothing purposely to keep the catcher from reaching R2.
Is R2 safe or should interference be called on R1?
|
The bold part is the crux. Was jumping over R1 needed to reach the tag?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
|