Runner Lying on base
Situation: Men's ASA Slowpitch - R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st - Batter hits ball into outfield, R2 is a much faster runner than R1 and is right behind R1 when approaching home plate. Ball gets to catcher but is up the 1st base line as R1 slides into home. R1 is on top of base, but there is some uncovered at the back corner. R2 steps on back of plate just before catcher jumps over R1 to make tag. R1 did nothing purposely to keep the catcher from reaching R2.
Is R2 safe or should interference be called on R1?
__________________
Travis
ASA Umpire
|