Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Scrapper1: Please elaborate. Would this have only been two points under the "original" three point rules set up by the NFHS many years ago?
|
Exactly, Billy. From outside the 3-point arc, A1 throws a lob pass, which is intended for A2 to catch and then dunk. But the pass is a little high and enters the basket without being touched by any other player.
Years ago, we had to judge whether this was a pass or a try and award 2 or 3 points, based on that judgment. Now it counts as a 3, regardless of the thrower's intent. I don't like the way the rule is worded, but this is the case that fits the rule's intent exactly. First time it's happened in one of my games!