Thread: Illegal Slide?
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 10, 2012, 08:40pm
RPatrino RPatrino is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesar's Ghost View Post
FED and NCAA only:

R1. Grounder to short. Throws wildly to second. F4 defelcts the ball and it rolls toward the umpire's B position. After the ball is deflected, R1 slides to the inside of the base and (a) does or (b) does not make contact with F4.

Ruling?
Is there a force play happening at 2nd base? You state AFTER the ball is deflected (assumes that it is rolling on the ground), R1 slides into second. Please clarify, is there a play being made on the sliding runner?

For sake of argument, I will assume that R1 is sliding into 2nd. The deflection part is irrelevant. As mentioned, a slide, to be legal, must be in direct line with the base. Contact can't be made behind the base or away from the base. If the slide is legal, then I can't have a violation of the FPSR in A or B. There can be legal contact.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.

Last edited by RPatrino; Sun Jun 10, 2012 at 08:45pm. Reason: Clarifying point
Reply With Quote