View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 17, 2003, 12:29pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally posted by ohiogray
Batter can just as well keep one foot in the box with the other foot out while turning to 3rd base coach and still get the sign.

If none of the acceptable conditions forced him out of the box then a strike should have been called.
That was the rule until a few years ago -- then they added the words "delays the game" to 7-3-1 Penalty.

See 7.3.1D, 7.3.1F, 7.3.1G, 7.3.1I, 7.3.1K

I agree that there are cases that seem to show the opposite - -I think these are left over from the rules change and didn't get corrected.

Reply With Quote