View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2012, 08:37am
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
DiscoHristo in his thread starting posted the following situation and question:

"[I]is there any rule in the book stating anything about when a player is attempting a shot, and the defender runs at that player's legs, but never touches them? I've seen refs warn players for this, but I'm not sure what the warning is for? The player is not touching them, but may look like he's about to take the shooter's legs out from under him... or is it a sportsmanship call?"


Jay R, addressing DiscoHristo's question quoted FIBA Interpretation R6-A38, Statement 3:

"While a player is in the act of shooting, opponents shall not be permitted to disconcert that player by actions such as waving a hand(s) to obstruct the shooter’s field of vision, shouting loudly, stamping feet heavily or clapping hands near the shooter. To do so may result in a technical foul if the shooter is disadvantaged by the action, or a warning if the shooter is not disadvantaged.

Example:
A4 is in the act of shooting for a goal when B4 attempts to distract A4 by shouting loudly or stamping feet heavily of the floor. The shot for goal is:
(a) Successful.
(b) Unsuccessful.

Interpretation:
(a) A warning shall be given to B4 and shall be communicated to coach B. This warning shall apply to all players of team B for the remainder of the game for similar behaviour.
(b) A technical foul shall be charged to B4."


I have officiated under NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, and FIBA. I do not like the FIBA intepretation. I think that it is an attempt at political correctness (and I hope that there is no one from the NFHS and NCAA Rules committees reads the FIBA Interpretation because I am afraid we just might find in the NFHS and NCAA Women's Rules). That said, I understand the concern that some members of the Forum have regarding this situaion.

Per NFHS and NCAA Men's/Women's Rules there is no infraction of the rules for DiscoHristo situation. We have to wait for contact to occur and then decide if the contact is an Intentional Personal Foul or a Flagrant Personal Foul.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote