View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 14, 2012, 12:16pm
ajmc ajmc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Is that actually judged? I ask because there've been threads recently in forums about what a team does if they want to spike the ball to stop the clock but never practice a hand-to-hand snap. I suggested that easier than practicing a C-QB exchange would be having the blocking back turn around and you'd hit him in the hands or chest with a downward moving forward pass that he would let bounce back off him to the ground.
May I suggest, Robert, that according to NFHS Rules, a snap is a "backwards pass" (NF2-41-1). A "pass" being incomplete, only refers to a "forward pass (legal or illegal) (NF: 7-5-5), A snapped ball bouncing off the chest of a set back, would be a "loose ball" and remain alive (NF: 2-1-3). The responsibility of being able to execute a hand to hand snap, is the totally borne by any team wishing to utilize the Exemption provided under NF: 7-5-2-e.

Regarding a forward pass to yourself, being deliberately incompleted. This would be a call, based on the judgment of the covering official as to violating (NF:7-5-d or e), the main criteria of which is based on perceived intent, in the exclusive judgment of the covering official.
Reply With Quote