View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2012, 01:49pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Approved NCAA Ruling:

9.4.2.1 Obstruction
Can the fielder be guilty of obstruction if the ball is not going to be played on because the fielder chooses not to play the batted ball and is just standing there?

Yes, the fielder has to actively be playing the ball (i.e. fielding, throwing or receiving a throw) to be protected. For example, if a player is following a slow roller roll down the foul line, hoping it will go foul, she is not protected and could be guilty of obstruction if she hinders the batter-runner on her way to the running lane.

This supports Andy's thought process. If fielder is not protected from obstruction because not actively playing the ball, and contact with the fielder isn't interference, then what play has been interfered with if the ball is inadvertantly contacted?
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote