View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2003, 12:33am
greymule greymule is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
The correct answer is a.

R1's out on the play stands. Because the appeal was made before the next pitch, B2 is also out. Further, because B2 was an unreported sub, he is disqualified.

If a pitch was thrown and then the defense appealed B2, he would be disqualified, but he would not be out. A substitute would run for him.

If the offense notified the umpire of the substitution before the defense appealed, B2's entry would have become legal.

See sections 4-6 and 4-7.
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote