I would think that if this is called the ball would have to be considered dead. It clearly seem to be an unintended hole in the rule or something that is so rare it would not matter. And even with that being said I find it rather difficult to see a situation where all of that happen so fast on a bad shot that the contact would not take place before the second shot attempt was made. I would just wave off the basket as the calling official or not add anything if my partner made the call based on what I think the rule currently says.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
|