| 
			
			 
			
				Fri Mar 23, 2012, 05:15pm
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Official Forum Member |  | 
					Join Date: Nov 2002 Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE) 
						Posts: 6,425
					      |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve  I agree; I call that runner safe at third.  I then call time to confer with my partner, because they have just made a live ball appeal, and the PU has that tag in 2 man, not me!!
 When we leave the conference, I (BU) am either confirming my call, or changing it; not having the PU appear to overturn my call by announcing his ruling on the appeal.
 
 There is no good way on this play; PU has the tag, but generally unable to get close enough, along with expecting a possible play at the plate.  BU doesn't have tag responsibility, but has an apparent play back into third.  make your (safe) call, then get together.
 |  Most mechanics I know, the PU has responsibility for the tag at 3rd and for a first play if the throw is from the outfield. Does "lone runner" override that?
		 
				__________________Officiating takes more than OJT.
 It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
 |