Quote:
Originally posted by Sven
... but it seems to me that if the girl going in had not been in the book, a technical foul would have been assessed (regardless of the time frame) when it was brought to the attention of the officials ....
Am I missing something?
Sven
|
Yeah. I don't have my book with me to quote the address, but the note on this rule states that the penalty must be assessed before the ball becomes live after the player enters the game. The book change should occur when the player enters the game. (If the scorer is lazy or slow, we can't help that. They should catch the mistake when the player first reports to substitute in, not when beckoned.)
For a free throw, the ball becomes live when at the disposal of the shooter. So between the first and second shots, the subs come in. A T can be assessed right then. Once that ball goes to the shooter, it is too late. Period.
The same rule note applies if the officials are notified after the game starts that the starters don't agree with who the coach indicated would start. Its too late for any penalty once that ball is tossed (becomes live).
Same note again on illegal substitution. Once the ball becomes live, or the bench person becomes a player, it is too late for any penalty.