Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  phansen
					 
				 
				NFHS 
 
A1 has the ball in the backcourt and is slowly advancing to the frontcourt.  As A1 crosses the division line, I notice B2 kneeling down to tie a shoe near A's basket.  As trail I blow my whistle, let B2 tie the shoe and have team A inbound the ball near the division line. Partner says I should not have stopped play.  Is he right? Rules reference always appreciated? 
			
		 | 
	
	
 A lot of people will tell you that your partner is correct.  I've always had the opinion, though, that if the game can be stopped at a point where nothing is happening (A1 slowly walking the ball up the floor or standing and dribbling in the frontcourt), stop the game and prevent any injury.
But if Team A is into their offense, I wouldn't stop play.  Use your best judgement about this.  It's why we get paid mucho dinero.