Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
Are you referring to this:
|
Quote:
10-2-3 After receiving the catcher's signal, the pitcher's hands must come together in view of the plate umpire for not more than five seconds.
Note: The hands do not have to come to a complete stop and, therefore, may be moving during the touch.
EFFECT—A ball is awarded to the batter.
Yes.
So, the above responses imply there is an interpretation that the effect only applies to more than 5 sec, not to "no touch" at all.
If the ref to 10-10-5 is really 10-5, it does not literally say the hands must touch, but the windup starts with the touch and not twice; so that means there can be no windup and 10-6 is the pitch starts with separation, so ther had to be a touch to separate. OK, thanks.
Still wonder why the 10.2.3 effect is different.