View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 19, 2012, 05:37pm
olsont1977 olsont1977 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ansley, Ne
Posts: 7
Free Throw Violation

Coaching my high school varsity girls in a game a few weeks ago. We are shooting the first shot of a 1 and 1 in front of the opposing team's bench. Opposing coach, is conferencing with a player in front of the bench, below the free throw line. When he is done she runs back to her spot across the floor, as my girl begins her shot, but runs through the circle. My girl misses the first free throw and play continues even though there should have been a violation. I asked the official nearest to me and he said it was the other official's call. When they rotated so I could ask him about it, he said they "absolutely blew that one, Coach". Otherwise they did a great job. Later after the game, they came up to me and we talked. We really weren't sure if that was a correctable error or not. I assumed it wasn't because the unawarded free throw was due to a judgement call, but they were unsure because of the 1 and 1 involved. It didn't make an impact on the game as we won by plenty, but it brought up a curious situation. I get on here to read rules and rulings and am curious myself as to what you guys think. If an official knows they missed a lane violation that would result in a free throw, or free throws being awarded, can they correct that error? I am assuming the answer is no, but I have been wrong before.
Reply With Quote