View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 12, 2012, 11:04pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan View Post
A1 with the ball beyond the 3 point line, B1 about 8 feet away moving toward A1.

A1 fakes a shot, B1 jumps to block the shot. Where B1 jumps from ( obliquely ) he will land to the right on A1, but A1 seeing B1 has jumped, now jumps into the path of B1 and attempts a shoot.

Contact is made between the 2 players. Whose the foul on?

We discussed this at our meeting today and we had about a 50-50 split.

I got a defensive foul. Our Interpreter has an offensive foul.

What say you?
Listen to your interpreter. The NCAA made a point of this being an offensive foul in it's instructional videos a couple of years ago.
At the NFHS level the call is justified by the rule that once a player goes airborne another player who moves to a new location in the path does not have a legal position.
Reply With Quote