
Wed Feb 08, 2012, 10:30am
|
Courageous When Prudent
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,928
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoInZebra
Cameron- My original thought was to agree with you, however a variation of this play happened on 2/7 at the end of the Maryland/Clemson game. With 1.7 seconds left A1 had a designated spot throw in on the endline in his backcourt. A1 makes a long pass and the first person to touch the ball was B1 who was in the air but left the playing court with one foot on a boundary line in Team A's frontcourt. The crew gave the ball back to A at the original designated spot with no time off the clock. I texted the national coordinator and he agreed with the crew's administration:
Ball was never legally inbounded. Same as opponent or teammate catching throw in OOB.
|
This ruling is contradictory to A.R. 182:
After a goal by Team B, Team A has the ball for a throw-in from the end of the playing court at which the goal was made and attempts to pass the ball inbounds.
(1) B1 kicks the ball along the sideline; or
(2) B1 kicks the ball along the end line from where the throw-in was attempted.
RULING: (1) The kick is a floor violation and the ball shall be awarded to Team A at a designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred.
(Rule 9-6 and 7-5-1)
(2) Kicking the ball is a floor violation. Consequently, Team A shall retain the privilege to the throw-in from anywhere along the end line.
In (1) and (2), the throw-in was not legally completed since the kick is not a legal touch. As a result, neither the game clock nor the shot clock shall be started because of the violation.
(Rule 7-6-2, 7-5-6.a.4 and 9-6)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Last edited by Raymond; Wed Feb 08, 2012 at 10:35am.
|