DOG v T
In a GJV game tonight, late in the 4th quarter, A has FCELTI. B is guarding the throw-in flailing her arms coming over the boundary line. I blow the whistle for the violation and on her next (last) swipe after the whistle, she contacts the ball. As I go to the table, the touching of the ball goes through my head for a split second before "game management" pops into my head. B was down 20 and there were maybe 2 minutes left. So I called the DOG and moved on.
I know by rule (after looking at my books to double check) that touching or dislodging the ball is a player T along with a DOG if not previously warned. But she touched the ball after the whistle had blown, making the ball dead. She didn't touch the player (therefore not intentional or flagrant). So right call, wrong call, or the "game management" call which I hate, loathe, and despise, or other comments?
|