View Single Post
  #57 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 28, 2012, 09:36pm
amusedofficial amusedofficial is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 280
Struckhoffian musings

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I believe the rule actually says "possession" and not "disposal".

Just checked. Reads: "...touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line "
Thanks for that. It led me to read further on the matter of a defense player grabbing the ball placed on the spot as part of resumption of play.

10-3-5a provides that "[A player shall not ... Delay the game by such acts as] a. Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play" and provides for a technical foul as penalty.

If the ball has been removed from the spot by a defender, it has been prevented from being made live promptly by the in-bounding team, its malingering notwithstanding.

Moreover, if grabbing a ball that was placed at the spot as part of resumption of play is a delay of game, does not 10-3-5 determine that delay in this circumstance requires a T with no warning?
Reply With Quote