
Mon Jan 09, 2012, 02:44pm
|
(Something hilarious)
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Legal shot.
The shot went up roughly inline with the edge of the board (as viewed by the camera) and came down on a line in front of the edge of the board (as viewed by the camera). That means that the ball, at it's peak, short of a massive wind gust to move it, was in outside the corner of the board.
Of course, there is the issue of whether the rule means it is a violation if part of the ball, the center of the ball, or the whole ball passes over the top. If it were any part of the ball, I'd think this would be a violation (I think some of the ball probably did clip the space above the backboard) but if it were the center of the ball or the whole ball, no violation.
|
As discussed back in this thread, I still think it was most likely a violation. And post #19 on that thread has the NCAA rule reference regarding "any part" of the ball.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
|