View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 29, 2011, 11:49am
elly elly is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
I had a situation where the batter unintentionally kicked dropped third strike into dugout. Using NFHS rule book I think the right call is BR (and any other runners) is awarded 1 base Here is how I got there:

When does a pitch end? Rule 2, Section 28, Art. 4 says "a pitch ends when a pitch ball is secured by the catcher, comes to rest, goes out of play, becomes dead or the batter hits the ball (fair or foul)

so,

we now go to Rule 8, Section 1, Art. 1 b ... a batter becomes a runner when
he is charged with a 3rd strike

so,

we now go to Rule 8, Section 3, Art 3 d...each runner is awarded one base if
a pitch goes into a stand or bench

There you have it.

Now if the ball had come to a rest and the BR kicked it then you have
interference.

What do you think?

Last edited by elly; Thu Dec 29, 2011 at 11:53am.
Reply With Quote