View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2011, 10:22am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
There's an exception to the BC rule for a throw-in (and for a jump ball and for a defensive player). A player can jump from the FC, catch the ball and land in the BC without it being a violation. (The "4 requirements" for a BC violation have been met, so without the exception there would be a violation.)

The exception applies only to the first person to touch the ball. So, if the ball is tipped (doesn't matter whether it was tipped by A1 or B1), and then A2 jumps from the FC, catches the ball and lands in the BC, it's now a violation.
To add, the violation occurs because the throw-in ends when the first player touches the ball. Therefore, the exception ends as well.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote