Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp
I would have to argue the catchers box does in fact have a front line, as it is described in Rule 2-3-D as being 8.5' X 10' in dimensions and is also shown as that dimension on the field diagram.
|
Not sure if I see that in the text of 2-3-D... Doesn't it actually state?
Quote:
Catcher's Box
The catcher’s box shall be as wide as the two batter’s boxes from outside line to outside line, 8.5 feet wide for fast pitch and 10.5 feet wide for Slow Pitch and 16” Slow Pitch.
|
I have never seen a rectangle drawn to define the catcher's box. The most I have ever seen was three lines, left, right and back.
Quote:
Rules Supplement: Catcher's Box
Catchers must remain in the catcher’s box until the pitch is released. The catcher may move closer to the plate without penalty when the batter is positioned in the front portion of the batter’s box during a pitch. However, the catcher must, at all times, still avoid catcher’s obstruction as the batter has the right to the entire batter’s box.
|
And while this sounds self-contradicting, it essentially means that
IF there was a frontal boundary, it is to be ignored.; which translates to its non-existence, at least as an
enforceable boundary.
The only reference to for F2 being too far forward which appears in multiple places in the Rules, RS and Umpire's Manual all say the same thing
Quote:
Catcher's Obstruction:
3. The catcher steps on, or in front of home plate without the ball and prevents the batter from hitting the ball.
|
Here is where it gets interesting (at least for me) because I do not know the answer, and I enjoy these hypothetical, theoretical, TWP discussions.
Consider:
Quote:
Section 5. DEFENSIVE POSITIONING.
A. The pitcher shall not deliver a pitch unless all available defensive players are positioned in fair territory, except the catcher who must be in the catcher’s box.
|
F2 is the only defensive player who is not required to be in fair territory.
But, is F2
required to be in foul territory?
Theoretically and TWP, with B is at the extreme fwd position in the batter's box it is possible for F2 to take a position in the opposite batter's box and be positioned in fair territory. Clearly at the risk of committing CO, or getting killed, but physically possible.
With the above references to CO caused by F2 being on, over or in front of HP, could it be that the
enforceable frontal boundary of the CB be the Foul Lines?
I realize that this is "out there", but the board has been slow and we haven't had much trolling action lately. So humor me.