Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay
He gets his foot in front, but because the dribbler is of course, leaning forward, there is torso contact. Sometimes the offensive player even puts his off arm up as a reaction to the crash and it looks like a forearm hitting the defender. I guess this is a judgment play all the way, like many others during the game's course, but I'd like to think the rules makers allow that the defender get there. I think what I'm having trouble with is hearing many on here say that is ONCE LGP is obtained it's not lost..is that what some are saying? Doesn't the offensive player's established path play a part in determining if lgp has been reached?
|
When you have obtained LGP, you have to maintain it. It does not mean all contact is legal on the part of the defender. But the defense can get in the way legally of the ball handler and not be responsible for the contact. You still have not explained what a "toe tap" is or what you are trying to say we should agree with. The rules are rather clear about this and actually you do not need torso contact to have a foul on the offensive player either.
Peace