View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 19, 2003, 11:09am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by APHP
I can argue also, that if A2's "bat/pass" is from frontcourt to backcourt--then it is a violation if a team A player is first to touch the ball.
You can argue it all you want. . .

Mick nailed it in the first reply here. Team control is established when a player on that team has player control. And player control is very clearly defined as "holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds". Batting the ball does not establish team control, even if you intentionally bat it in a specific direction. Bat = no player control. No player control = no team control. No team control = no backcourt violation.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote