Thread: Caseplay
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2011, 04:56pm
Scratch85 Scratch85 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Does anyone have or know where to find the caseplay that says its legal to block the ball after it strikes the backboard in HS?

No case play that I know of but it is included in the back of the rules book in the grid showing "major basketball differences" NFHS vs NCAA

NFHS= Player touches the ball during a try/tap while it is in its downward flight entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket in flight.

NCAA = Same as NFHS and includes a ball that is touched after it contacts the backboard when it is entirely above ring level - considered to be on it its downward flight.

I don't call NCAA but as I read this, in NCAA it may still be legal to touch a ball after it has contacted the backboard if it was not entirely above ring level when touched.
Reply With Quote